Way of the Ninja

Those of the Way of the Ninja are practitioners of the arts of subtlety. They are masters of disguise and infiltration, often offering their services as informants and spies. However, a ninja is also trained as a capable warrior, often mastering special combat styles. Ninja use ki to perform special supernatural feats.

Way of the Ninja Features
Monk LevelFeature
3rdNinja Arts, Shinobi Training
6thShadow Warrior
11thShrike’s Guile
17thShinobi Teachings


Ninja Arts

3rd-level Way of the Ninja feature

You gain access to secret arts, sometimes called ninja magic. An art requires you to spend ki points each time you use it. These are magical effects. When an art casts a spell, you don’t require components to use it.

You learn three arts which you choose from the options below. When you gain a new level in this class you may replace one of the arts you know with a different one.

Cricket’s Leap. You can spend 1 ki point to cast the jump spell on yourself.

Fading Presence.* When you are hit by a weapon attack, you can spend 2 ki points to increase your AC against that attack by 4. You must choose to do this before the result of the attack is known.

Flash Bomb. As an action, you can spend 2 ki points to attempt to blind nearby creatures. Each creature within 5 feet of you must succeed on a Dexterity saving throw against your ki save DC or become blinded until the end of its next turn.

No Face. When you are within a crowd or in dim light or darkness, you can spend 1 ki point to take the Hide action as a bonus action. You can do this while being observed. If you aren’t observed, you have advantage on ability checks to elude detection for 1 minute.

Phantom Steps. As an action, you can spend 2 ki points to cast the *water walking* spell on yourself. For the duration, your footsteps are completely silent.

Serpent’s Reed. As a bonus action, you can spend 1 ki point to breathe water for 1 hour.

Shadow Clone. As an action, you can spend 3 ki points to cast the *mirror image* spell.

Thousand Faces. As a bonus action, you can spend 2 ki points to change your appearance, including clothing and armor, for 1 hour or until you dismiss the changes as a bonus action. You can appear up to one foot taller or shorter and can appear fatter or thinner. You can’t change your creature type and must have the same general shape.

Vanishing Act. When you take damage, you can use your reaction to spend 2 ki points to teleport to an unoccupied space within 20 feet of you, and the creature that damaged you can’t see you until the end of the turn.

Shinobi Training

3rd-level Way of the Ninja feature

You gain proficiency in sickle and chains, shuriken, blowguns, the Deception skill, and disguise kits.

In addition, sickle and chains, shuriken, and simple ranged weapons are treated as monk weapons for you. You also draw a weapon that has the thrown property as part of the attack you make with the weapon. Sickle and chain and shuriken are introduced in Aronar’s Armory.

Shadow Warrior

6th-level Way of the Ninja feature

Once each turn, you can add a roll of your martial arts die to your weapon damage in the following instances:

  • When you make an opportunity attack.
  • The first time you attack a target which hasn’t taken its first turn in combat.
  • When you have advantage on the attack roll.

When you reach 17th level, you add two rolls your martial arts die instead.

Shrike’s Guile

11th-level Way of the Ninja feature

You can make opportunity attacks with a weapon that has thrown property when a foe within 15 feet of you moves away from you.

In addition, you can replace any of your unarmed strikes with an attack from a one-handed melee or ranged weapon, provided it has the thrown property.

Shinobi Teachings

17th-level Way of the Ninja feature

You have achieved mastery with your secret arts. After finishing a long rest, you can use each of your Ninja Arts once without expending ki.

You also learn two additional Ninja Arts of your choice.