The divine spellcaster that channels the power of the gods, the cleric is one of the fundamental D&D classes. Although relegated as a healer class by many players due to the cleric having the spells that do heal injured party members, the D&D cleric has always been a mix of magical and physical mettle. While the cleric does have spells that recover hit points, it also has spells that enhance its allies, impair its foes, uncover secrets, and smite those that earn its wrath. Not only does the cleric master spells, it is also accomplished in fighting, able to don armor and use a range of weapons to engage alongside fighters and paladins on the front lines.

The cleric is the best class because it matches decent combat strength with a range of defensive, offensive, and utility spells. When adventuring parties welcome a new member, they most welcome that member when it is a cleric. A cleric can be a healer, warrior, master of the elements, protector, or all of these and more. You get to define the cleric you play, and decide if you seek the destruction of your foes or if you want to support your allies, or mix and match. A good cleric prepares a diverse range of spells to cover many scenarios.

Optional Class Features

The cleric class receives new features and subclasses in this section. You gain class features in the *Player’s Handbook* when you reach certain levels in your class. This section offers additional features you can gain as a cleric. Unlike features in the *Player’s Handbook*, you don’t gain the features here automatically. Consult with your DM on whether you gain a feature in this section if you meet the requirements. These features can be selected separately from one another; you can use some, all, or none of them.

If you take a feature that replaces another feature, you gain no benefit from the replaced feature and don’t qualify for anything in the game that requires it.

Channel Divinity: Rebuke Undead

1st-level cleric feature which replaces the Turn Undead and Destroy Undead features

As an action, you present your holy symbol and speak a prayer entreating the undead. Each undead that can see or hear you within 30 feet must make a Wisdom saving throw. If the creature fails its saving throw, it is rebuked for 1 minute or until you or a creature you control deals damage to it.

A rebuked creature can’t attack you or otherwise seek to do you harm. It understands your words and you have advantage on ability checks to interact socially with it.

Evil Divinities

Evil clerics often command power over the undead, creating awe instead of fear. These clerics rebuke undead instead of turning them. If you are playing a cleric that isn’t of good alignment, the DM may decide that you rebuke and command undead instead of turning and destroying them.


1st-level cleric feature

You choose a divine path from the options below.

Cloister. You faith is fueled by your dedicating to the texts, teachings, and mantras of your religion. You use Intelligence instead of Wisdom for your spellcasting ability and for your cleric features.

Devout. Your devotion empowers you to act on behalf of your beliefs. You use Wisdom as your spellcasting ability and for your cleric features.

Evangelism. You derive power and validation from the trust others place in you. You use Charisma instead of Wisdom for your spellcasting ability and for your cleric features.

Multiclass Dogma

Clerics who take the Cloister or Evangelism dogmas must still meet the 13 Wisdom score requirement to multiclass.

Command Undead

5th-level cleric feature which requires the Rebuke Undead feature

When an undead fails its saving throw against your Rebuke Undead feature, the creature becomes controlled by you for 24 hours if its challenge rating is at or below a certain threshold, as shown on the Command Undead table. The creature obeys your verbal commands, even if it doesn’t share your language, to the best of its ability. Each time a controlled creature takes damage, it makes a new Wisdom saving throw. On a success, the creature is no longer controlled by you. You can only control a number of creatures equal to half Wisdom modifier (minimum of one) at once; you must relinquish control of one undead before you can control a new one.

Command Undead
Cleric LevelCommanded Undead of CR…
5th1/2 or lower
8th1 or lower
11th2 or lower
14th3 or lower
17th4 or lower

Divine Domain Options

Divine Domains receive additional options and spells in this section.

Peace Domain

The Peace Domain receives the following feature.

Emboldening Bonds

1st-level Peace Domain feature which replaces the Emboldening Bond feature

You can forge an empowering bond among people who are at peace with one another. As an action, you choose a number of willing creatures within 30 feet of you (this can include you) equal to 1 + your Wisdom modifier (minimum of 2 creatures). You create a magical bond among them for 8 hours. While any bonded creature is within 30 feet of another, the creature can roll a d4 and add the number rolled to an attack roll, an ability check, or a saving throw it makes. Each creature can add the d4 no more than once per turn, and no more than a total number of times equal to your cleric level.

After using this feature, you can’t use it again until you finish a long rest.

Trickery Domain

The Trickery Domain receives the following feature.

Bonus Cantrip

1st-level Trickery Domain feature

You gain the *minor illusion* cantrip if you don’t already know it. It counts as a cleric spell for you.

Twilight Domain

The Twilight Domain receives the following features.

Vigilant Blessings

1st-level Twilight Domain feature which replaces the Vigilant Blessing feature

The night has taught you to be vigilant. As an action, you give one creature you touch (which can be you) advantage on the next initiative roll the creature makes. This benefit ends immediately after the roll or if you use this feature again.

You can use this feature a number of times equal to your Wisdom modifier (minimum of once), and you regain all expended uses when you finish a long rest.

Channel Divinity: Dark Sanctuary

2nd-level Twilight Domain feature which replaces the Twilight Sanctuary feature

You can use your Channel Divinity to refresh your allies with soothing twilight.

As an action, you present your holy symbol, and a sphere of twilight emanates from you. The sphere is centered on you, has a 30-foot radius, and is filled with dim light. The sphere moves with you, and it lasts for 1 minute or until you are incapacitated or die. Whenever a creature (including you) ends its turn in the sphere, you can grant that creature one of these benefits:

  • You grant it temporary hit points equal to 1d6 plus your cleric level. These temporary hit points are lost early if the creature exits the sphere.
  • You end one effect on it causing it to be charmed or frightened. Moreover, the creature is immune to the unsettled condition while it remains in the sphere.
Unsettled Condition

This condition is introduced in the Psychic and Spiritual Handbook and represents the oppressive feeling of a haunting. If you aren’t playing with the unsettled condition, you can disregard references to it.