Multiclass Psionic Characters


To qualify for a new class, you must meet the ability score prerequisites for both your current class and your new class, as shown in the Multiclassing Prerequisite table here and in the Player’s Handbook.

The channeler class requires the same ability it uses for manifesting powers based on its psionic expression.

Multiclassing Prerequisites
ClassAbility Score Minimum
ChannlerConstitution 13, Intelligence 13, or Charisma 13
SavantIntelligence 13
TranscendentStrength 13 or Dexterity 13 and Wisdom 13


When you gain your first level in a class other than your initial class, you gain only some of your new class’s proficiencies.

Multiclassing Proficiencies
ClassProficiencies gained
ChannelerFortune telling tool
TranscendentLight armor, medium armor, shields, simple weapons, and martial weapons

Class Features

Extra Attack

If you gain the Extra Attack class feature from more than one class, the features don’t add together. You can’t make more than two attacks with this feature unless it says you do (as the fighter’s version of Extra Attack does).


The limitation on casting and concentrating on spells applies to manifesting and maintaining powers as well.

Unarmored Defense

If you already have the Unarmored Defense feature, you can’t gain it again from another class.

Wild Shape

In addition to not being able to cast spells in Wild Shape, druids can’t manifest psionic powers while in it. You can still maintain already manifested powers just like you can concentrate on spells.

When you reach 18th level as a druid and gain the Beast Spells class feature, you can manifest powers you know freely.

Power Manifesting

Your capacity to manifest psionic powers depends partly on your combined levels in all you psionic classes and partly on your individual levels in those classes. Once you have the Power Manifesting feature from more than one class, use the rules below. If you multiclass but have the Power Manifesting feature from only one class, you follow the rules as described in that class.

Powers Known and Imprinted. You determine what powers you know and can imprint for each class individually, as if you were a single-classed member of that class. If you can imprint powers, you use only your class level to determine your proficiency bonus for the purpose of determining how many powers you can imprint, even if your proficiency bonus is otherwise higher. If you are a transcendent 4/savant 3, for example, you know two transcendent powers based on your levels in the transcendent class. As a 3rd-level savant, if your Intelligence is 16, you can imprint five savant powers.

Each power you know and imprint is associated with one of your classes, and you use the power manifesting ability of that class when you manifest the power.

If a power of yours increases in power at higher level at no power point cost, the increase is based on your character level, not your level in a particular class.

Power Points. If you have more than one class that can manifest powers, you determine your available power points by adding together your levels in savant and channeler, half your levels in transcendent (rounded down), and a third of your monk or rogue levels (rounded down) if you have the Way of Insight or Shadowmind features. Use this total to determine your power points by consulting the Multiclass Manifester table.

Multiclass Manifester Power Points
LevelPower Points